top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureartworksmonika

Socially distant

This is a painting inspired by an artwork I saw recently somewhere on social media. It was a painting of a young woman holding a candle… somewhere in the woods. Very pretty painting, classically painted, the kind of stuff you have seen in a museum.

But I felt that it was out of touch with the reality. As much as I am a dreamer and a romantic, I couldn’t help but ask myself what kind of a woman would be in the woods alone at night, in some flimsy nighty-dress, and on top of that holding a candle?

And so I thought of painting a figure in a modern setting. I put her in a business dress to start with. Then I gave her a phone instead of a candle, and since business women tend to be pretty busy, I figured she should be walking down the street as she’s texting, surrounded by people, yet socially distant.






bottom of page