top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureartworksmonika

How to overcome a creative block




Thank you for joining me.

I have always loved sharing #ideas but have been very apprehensive about putting them into writing, so this is promising to be interesting. I will try to keep it short and to the point, since this is my very first attempt. Just bare with me...

I thought a good starting point might be writing about #creative blocks, since I'm currently experiencing one (as we speak). So here are a few tips and tricks that have helped me over the years.


  • Keep a sketch book or a note book with you at all times, so that if an idea pops up, you can record it. No pen? No problem. Get your phone out and record your idea in a short video, or send yourself an email.

  • Don't be afraid to work on more than one idea at the time. Some people might argue that this could lead to distractions. But focus is a funny thing- you do have full control over it! When I work on a piece of art, but my mind keeps wondering to one I started earlier, here's what I do: I simply go and work on the piece that keeps calling me. There might be a reason for it calling me- perhaps the idea I was trying to apply to one piece was much better suited for the other.

  • Another reason why I think it's better to switch between projects from time to time is that when you come back to the original one, you know exactly where to pick up from.

  • Sketch your favorite element of the art you just finished. This is something that has been helping me with ideas ever since I can remember. Of course sketching should be done often and regularly, before painting, in between painting. But I find that most of my ideas come whilst I paint or soon after I finish. I usually sit back for few minutes and relax, and then concentrate on the thing that grabs my attention. Then I sketch it. Just that one little idea. Forget the subject itself, I'm talking about that one element of the picture you can't seem to take your eyes off. Just focus on that, record it in a quick 2 - 3 minute sketch, and just move on.

  • Challenge yourself. This one is by far one of my favorites. Don't settle for the thing you are good at. One of my motto's I go by is that once you become an expert in something, it's time to move on. Explore, experiment, question. Do the unexpected. Is there something you have always been apprehensive about, something you tried to avoid at all costs (i.e. writing in my case)? Well... see what happens if you just do it.


Personally, I'm not a big fan of "searching for inspiration". As one of my favorite artists once said: "inspiration does exist, but it must find you working". So don't wait to feel inspired. Start working, however slowly, the ideas will eventually come.


Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed this short article. Please feel free to leave comments below, or share your tips on how to stay creative.

bottom of page