top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureartworksmonika

Fruit of life

Ok, so this particular artwork starter as something else. It was created recently- i.e. towards the end of the lockdown, when restrictions still applied, but things started to ease up a bit (shops and restaurants re-opened, but we still couldn’t hug, shake hands, or go anywhere in the world).

It all started by me researching other cultures and their traditions, mainly because I was fed up with being in one place. I am a person who needs to travel and explore, and if I can’t do it physically, at least I can do it on canvas (or paper). Internet is a great resource… if used correctly of course. I found hundreds of pictures of people from different parts of the world, dressed in their traditional costumes, or practicing their traditions. And of course what caught my attention was all those colors. Europe, with all it’s culture, seems so boring when it comes to fashion. So I started doing these made up sketches of imaginary figures in these really colorful clothes. I did make them up, because I have no intention of copying photographs. But I felt too inspired to pass on all those colors. So here they are, colorful as ever, bringing us some metaphorical fruit to enrich our lives.







bottom of page