top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureartworksmonika

Creative process- No need to explain

This was one of the works that evolved naturally from all the research of all the different world cultures. The finished figures are however no longer in their traditional attire. In fact, nothing in this painting suggest anything to do with another culture. It’s just how it all naturally developed after looking at all those beautiful faces from around the world. I started by painting two made up figures slightly turned towards one another as if talking. At this point I did not have a clear idea of where I was going with it, but there was a hand gesture I saw somewhere... It got stuck in my mind, and so I put it in the painting. Suddenly one of the figures looked like she was explaining herself. It got me thinking how often we try to explain ourselves and justify our own actions. In fact, later that day I had an encounter that prompted me to do just that. I realized however, people will think whatever they want to think, so really… there is no need to explain. All you achieve by it, is getting your mind back to that bad feeling, overthinking it, and potentially getting stuck in a bad place.


A short time-lapse of the creative process is available on my Instagram.

And this is the finished piece. Hope you enjoy





bottom of page